Lesbian Identities – Part 3

So here are the rest of the identities from the article “What’s In a Name? A Quick Glossary of lesbian Labels”:

Lipstick Lesbian: She loves “girly” stuff like make-up and fashion, but fancies women as much as the next lesbian. AKA Femme or Fem.

Butch: She adopts traditionally masculine traits.

Stone Butch: She gets her kicks from really pleasing her partner, even though she doesn’t want to be touched or fondled. She does not like to be touched sexually.

Soft Butch: She’s butch in manner and style but softer and more feminine at the same time.

Pillow Queen: She tends to prefer receiving rather than giving sexual favours.

Boi: She’s biologically female, though boyish in mien and appearance.

Stem: Somewhere between “stud” and “femme”.

Kiki: Neither butch nor femme, this girl defines herself as something else. Originated from 1950s US bar culture. AKA Futch.

Stud: She’s dominant and often Afro-American.

There you have it the rest of the identities. When I first read this article I wondered if lesbians really identified with them? I mean I’ve always been aware of Butch and Femme because women openly identify as them but I’ve never heard of Pillow Queens and Stone Butch’s but that doesn’t mean they don’t exist!

Would a lesbian openly identify as a Pillow Queen? It may just be me but it sounds quite negative but then again if a Pillow Queen met a Stone Butch they would be perfect together! (Sorry thinking out loud here haa)

Also I’d like to add that Linuxgal commented on my last post about an identity that isn’t covered here – Femmer: The more feminine of a pair of lipstick lesbians, as in “Femme and Femmer” – So thank you for this!

I’m sure there will be more identities that have been missed so please leave a comment and I will update or include them in another post!

As for me if I had to pick I would be a Blue Jeans Femme though I can be found wearing black and grey jeans. 😉

Love

this girl

x

4 thoughts on “Lesbian Identities – Part 3

Leave a comment